Three Things We Learned from Week 11 of the NFL Season

rob-gronkowski-pi-end-zone

Al Walsh

1.) First and foremost, if Tom Brady throws a better pass to Gronk in the endzone, pass interference would have been called. I still think defensive holding should have AT LEAST been called, but that flag got picked up because they were in Carolina. If they are in New England, the Pats would’ve gotten the ball at the one-yard line. The rest is up to your imagination.

2.) Alex Smith will not lose you many ball games, but he sure as hell won’t win you many when playing from behind. We’re starting to see the true colors on this team, and you need to score early on them. Buffalo WAS going about it the right way a couple weeks ago, but luckily for KC, Jeff Tuel exists. Denver showed us all how it’s done.

3.) Aaaaaaaand here we go on Sunday. When Dallas takes on the Giants at MetLife it will be an absolute shit-show all over the stadium from the parking lot to the field. The internet will go down via overload from excessive fight videos on cell phones. I would give anything to be at this game, even as a neutral party.

Michael McCord

1.) Drew Brees was quoted, “I was hit so hard, there had to be a flag.” He might as well had tears of a wimpy kid. This statement scares me for the NFL’s future. QB’s are being coddled and hits are supposed to be vicious. One thing with me is for sure. If years from now I hear a retired QB complain about CTE’s, I might just hang myself.

2.) Andre Johnson was quoted, “I have to play out my contract.” What I got was here was that he is saying the right things to the media to make himself look good. What he’s telling the Texans is, I want to get traded to a Super Bowl contender I’m 33 years old and I can still play this game. Bill Belicheck might give Houston a call in the offseason.

3.) This was a week of bad officiating. There will always be bad officiating no matter what but I say lets be lenient a tad with the QB’s (see first thing I learned) and you threw a flag so you better call something. To pick it up and say there was no foul without an explanation makes the NFL look bad. That was clearly a mugging in the end zone.

 

Keith McCord

1.) You don’t have to be a diva to play wide receiver in this league just yet. There was no better showing of sportsmanship and respect this year than when Calvin Johnson and Antonio Brown swapped their jerseys after both put up top-flight performances Sunday.

2.) The Arizona Cardinals are 6-4. Who knew? I didn’t until a few minutes ago.

3.) I was never a fan of the “let ’em play” approach to big plays in big games. If a linebacker hugs the tight end in the end zone when the ball is coming, it’s pass interference. Call it. It’s in the rule book for a reason. Am I right Niners fans?

Nick Capodice

1.) There are currently 8 teams within one game of the 6th (and final) AFC playoff spot. One thing I know is that if the Jets somehow get that spot, they’ll be one and done. Geno Smith is not ready for the big stage. He only completed 11 passes in Sunday’s blowout loss, and 3 of them were to the other team. He’s not going to beat any half-way decent teams playing like that.

2.) A win at Detroit next week and the Tampa Bay Bucs will have what’s know as a winning streak. It has happened before!

3.) Just a few months ago Ron Jaworski foolishly declared that Colin Kaepernick could become one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time. Now, the bicep-kissing signal caller is predictably coming back down to earth and his team is one or two more slip-ups away from missing out on a post-season spot.

Leave a comment